Dear Bramble

My dear son, Bramble,

I am more than a little concerned for your “dad” who you are  with now, Mr. ABC. He’s been getting some very bad press: The Church’s grey men are out of touch. And it seems that the Big C catholic bi-ped  is getting lots of really good press… Like here, and here, and here and here. Now I know he’s out of touch on a lot of other things, but there’s much that your bi-ped dad could learn from the Pope.

And I can’t really say that the media has missed the mark on this. In the article I mentioned, it says

The Church is run by a bunch of grey men in fancy costumes: look at any picture of the Synod and weep. They fail to represent modern Britain in any meaningful way. Welby says he wants Christians to focus less on what they are against, but sometimes in life I find that really useful. I am profoundly against inequality in any shape or form – so I find a Christian leader’s refusal to accept gay marriage repugnant.

The Church must adapt to a changing society. This is not a sign of weakness, but of strength, otherwise it is shrinking its horizons, focusing on a literal interpretation of the Bible and refusing access to men and women because of their sexual orientation. Jesus would have been appalled.

This makes me very sad, son. And profoundly so, +I might add. When +I was the Bishop of Pittsburgh, I found that, as the article says, ‘What the Church of England needs is a clear direction, not a load of woolly waffle about “repentance”.’ Wooly waffles are no good, son. I’ve never fancied a big plate of wooly waffles, and I can’t imagine anyone else has either! But clear direction? Everyone has need of clear direction. I am now wondering if Mr. ABC was the right bi-ped for the job. Or even whether a bi-ped was the right species for the job! I should have pressed the queen harder to think about a canine or feline Archbishop!

But the good news, my son, is that there’s still time to get him turned around! There’s still time to get him to start working more with his heart and less with his brain! There’s still time, but not much. He’s got to start doing a better job of living the Gospel instead of explaining it! Bramble, if it’s possible, can you tell him that I need to talk with him as soon as possible? His train is leaving the station, and Mr. ABC is not on it!

With all the love in the world,
Clumber's Pawmark


4 Responses to “Dear Bramble”

  1. 1 George Waite 14 October 2013 at 12:32 pm

    How do you know when the “big c” catholic bi-ped is “out of touch”? When he disagrees with you?
    How convenient-but that’s typical of religious people: Jesus/God/Allah and I have the same interests/beliefs/enemies.

  2. 2 clumber 15 October 2013 at 8:08 am

    An excellent question! And one I shall have to ponder for a long time before I can respond adequately! Can I infer from your third sentence that you are self-identifying as a “none” with respect to religion? Or perhaps your antagonism is towards the institutions of religion? What a shame, for life is about seeking the right questions to ask, and you seem so good at that!

  3. 3 George Waite 21 October 2013 at 12:45 pm

    My ‘antagonism’ is directed at those who not only presuppose that there’s an Invisible Being but one who agrees and disagrees and hates as they do.
    “How do you KNOW this is true”? Why should I care”?
    The more I speak and listen to religious people, the less I want to be involved with them.

  4. 4 clumber 22 October 2013 at 12:12 pm

    Well, George, I’m just an old dog, so you’ll probably ignore whatever I bark at you, but here’s my advice. Stop following this blog. Stop following all the blogs that upset you so. Stop posting at them as well. So if you’re happiest when you are not hearing about “Invisible Beings” and when you are not involved with them, then you need to… oh, what’s the word… “detach” yourself from places where you hear, meet, or are involved with them. I see God at work in the world. You don’t. And that’s okay. Blessings be upon you and your life, George. Be well, do good work, and try not to keep in touch. Unless you want to. I can help control your impulses to post if you’d like…

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

